24 Chinese cities united to protect MSR heritage

BY :Sophia&Yuan

UPDATED :April 26, 2019

Last April, twenty-four Chinese cities came together as alliance in a campaign to protect the legacies of the ancient Maritime Silk Road (MSR) and seek designation for it on the UNESCO Cultural Heritage List.

Guangdong province, the largest economy in China, boasts six cities—Guangzhou, Jiangmen, Chaozhou, Shantou, Yangjiang, and Zhanjiang—in the Alliance, topping other provinces in China.

Jiangsu province and Shandong province come after Guangdong as the province that boasts the second and the third most cities in the Alliance.

Let's check out the cities which joined the City Alliance of Maritime Silk Road Heritage Conservation and Inscription on the World Heritage List.

Jiangsu province (five cities): Lianyungang, Nanjing, Nantong, Yangzhou, Suzhou

Fujian province (three cities): Putian, Fuzhou, Zhangzhou

Shandong province (four cities): Dongying, Weihai, Penglai, Zibo

Hainan province (one city): Sanya

Hebei province (one city): Huanghua

Zhejiang province (two cites): Lishui Longquan, Ningbo

Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region (one city): Beihai

Municipality directly under the central government: Shanghai